Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HNC Diploma in Business (QCF)

Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HNC Diploma in Business (QCF)

These qualifications have been accredited to the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF). The Qualification Numbers (QNs) for these qualifications are listed below.

These qualification titles are as they will appear on learners’ certificates. Learners need to be made aware of this when they are recruited by the centre and registered with Edexcel. Providing this happens, centres are able to describe the programme of study leading to the award of the qualification in different ways to suit the medium and the target audience.

Centres are reminded that The Report of the National Committee of Inquiry into Higher Education (the Dearing Report) recommended that they ‘develop, for each programme they offer, a ‘programme specification’ which identifies potential stopping-off points and gives the intended outcomes of the programme ...’ The Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) has produced guidelines for centres in preparing programme specifications (reference Guidelines for preparing programme specifications: QAA 115 06/06) which includes related post-Dearing developments.

Annexe 2:Working with programme specifications: a leaflet for further education colleges of this QAA document contains additional guidance notes to support further education colleges writing programme specifications for Edexcel awards.


Qualification Numbers

The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) code is known as a Qualification Number (QN).

Each unit within a qualification will also have a QCF unit code.

The QCF qualification and unit codes will appear on learners’ final certification documentation.

The QNs for the qualifications in this publication are:

500/8239/5 Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma in Business (QCF)



This specification contains the units and associated guidance for the QCF Edexcel BTEC Level 4 HNC in Business and the Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND in Business.

Each unit sets out the required learning outcomes, assessment criteria and content and may also include advice regarding essential delivery and assessment strategies.

This document also contains details of the teaching, learning, assessment and quality assurance of these qualifications. It includes advice about Edexcel’s policies regarding access to its qualifications, the design of programmes of study and delivery modes.


Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND

The Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND in Business is a qualification with a minimum of 240 credits of which 125 are mandatory core.

The Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND programme must contain a minimum of 125 credits at level 5.